ECSO - Sounds from Far and Near Promo
20 Oct 2016
Sounds from Far and Near Saturday, March 19, 2016, 8pm Jung-Hsuan Ko, Cello Johannes Brahms’s boisterous Academic Festival Overture begins our March concert, followed by Finnish composer Einojuhani Rautavaara’s Cantus Arcticus, a composition featuring birdcalls from the Arctic Circle. Bringing in sounds from a closer origin, the ECSO brass section is featured in the Concerto for Brass and Orchestra by American composer James Beckel. Cellist Jung-Hsuan Ko, the 2014-15 ECSO Instrumental Competition winner is the soloist for the evening in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No. 1. Closing the concert is Richard Wagner’s Die Meistersinger Prelude. Purchase tickets by 860-443-2876 or visiting

Contact Us:

Eastern Connecticut 
Symphony Orchestra
289 State Street
New London, CT 06320

Phone: 860-443-2876

Support the ECSO

Newsletter Sign-up

Become a Fan

Become a fan of Eastern Connecticut Symphony Orchestra to hear about new music, videos, event info & special offers.

Additional Support

The ECSO operates with additional support from the Department of Economic and Community Development, Connecticut Office of the Arts which also receives support from the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency.